How much does a veterinary website cost in 2026?
Published veterinary website prices range from $109 to $327 a month, while one provider charges a build fee plus monthly service. The useful comparison is not the first invoice. It is the total cost, ownership and included work over the period your clinic expects to keep the site.
Short answer
A veterinary website can cost $109 to $327 a month at currently published specialist-provider prices. A custom option may add an upfront build fee. Over 36 months, the examples we verified total $3,924 to $11,772 before optional extras. A one-time build can cost less over that period, but only when scope, ownership, hosting and updates are clear.
What do veterinary website providers publish?
We checked provider pages on October 20, 2026 and used only amounts printed by the seller. These are examples, not a market average. Packages differ, and a lower fee can include more or less than a higher one.
| Published option | Upfront | Monthly | 36-month calculation |
|---|---|---|---|
| eVetSites, VIN member | Not stated on pricing page | $109 | $109 × 36 = $3,924 |
| eVetSites, nonmember | Not stated on pricing page | $169 | $169 × 36 = $6,084 |
| Digital Empathy | $2,750 | $199 | $2,750 + ($199 × 36) = $9,914 |
| LifeLearn WebDVM | Not stated on product page | Starts at $327 | $327 × 36 = $11,772 |
| Barlo Digital Launch rebuild | $1,997 | No required monthly plan stated | $1,997 before optional care |
The calculations multiply the published monthly fee by 36 and add a published build fee where one exists. They do not predict renewals, price changes, add-ons, taxes or migration costs. Digital Empathy says its $199 monthly subscription covers hosting, maintenance and updates. eVetSites lists hosting, support, local SEO help and an education library. WebDVM says five editions are available, so $327 is a starting price rather than a quote for every clinic.
Should a clinic compare the monthly fee or total cost?
Compare both, then compare what remains if you leave. A monthly figure is useful for cash flow. Total cost over your expected holding period shows the larger commitment. For a three-year comparison, use:
36-month cost = build fee + (monthly fee × 36) + known extras.
Known extras might include copywriting, domain management, booking software, new location pages or work outside the update allowance. Digital Empathy, for example, publishes copywriting at $499 per page beyond the included homepage copy. eVetSites separately lists domain management at $39 per year. These items should be added only when your clinic needs them.
Do not treat the table as an apples-to-apples quote. Ask each provider to price the same written scope. That scope should name page count, copy, photography, booking integration, forms, analytics, accessibility work, hosting, updates and migration at cancellation.
When does a one-time veterinary website build make sense?
A one-time build is usually easier to evaluate when the clinic wants a defined project, can handle future edits separately and receives control of the finished site. Our veterinary practice website rebuild publishes a $1,997 Launch price. The live page says the domain, hosting and content stay in the buyer's name.
The one-time price is not automatically the cheaper choice. A clinic that needs frequent service pages, staff changes and campaigns may value an ongoing update service. Compare the work your team will actually request, not just the software and hosting line.
When does a monthly veterinary website plan make sense?
A monthly plan can fit a clinic that wants one provider responsible for hosting, maintenance and routine changes. The tradeoff is a recurring obligation, so the contract matters as much as the design.
- Confirm the minimum term. Ask for the initial term, renewal term and cancellation notice in writing.
- Confirm what you can take. Ask whether you receive the domain, copy, images, analytics history and a working export when the agreement ends.
- Define an update. A staff bio edit is different from a new service page. Get examples of included and billable requests.
- Price the likely extras. Include copy, new pages, booking tools, domain fees and location expansion in the same 36-month model.
Which website features deserve budget first?
Start with the actions a pet owner needs on a phone. The assigned Barlo Digital test found that 48% of 274 veterinary clinic homepages had no tap-to-call link on the first screen. That does not prove those clinics lost appointments, but it identifies a basic interaction to test before paying for decorative work.
- Emergency and routine paths: make the emergency instruction, phone number and appointment route distinct.
- Mobile calls and booking: test the first screen at a narrow phone width and complete the booking path yourself.
- Service information: explain what the clinic offers, who it serves and what a new client should expect.
- Measurement: record calls, booking completions and forms in analytics, then verify each event rather than trusting an installed tag.
- Ownership and access: keep the domain registration, analytics property and other business accounts under clinic-controlled access.
Price transparency is also uncommon. A peer-reviewed May 2026 study reviewed 157 US small-animal clinic websites and found that 3 of 157 (1.91%) published service pricing. A website project is a chance to decide what the clinic can state clearly, such as exam fees, payment methods or how estimates work, without pretending every clinical case has one fixed price.
What should you ask before signing?
| Question | Why it changes the cost |
|---|---|
| Is this a build, a subscription or both? | It determines upfront cash and the recurring obligation. |
| What exactly is included? | Copy, pages, forms, booking and updates can be separate charges. |
| Who controls the domain and accounts? | Clinic control reduces migration risk later. |
| What happens at cancellation? | An export, transfer fee or rebuild can change the true exit cost. |
| How are calls, forms and bookings measured? | Installed analytics is not the same as verified conversion tracking. |
| What is the complete 36-month total? | It exposes the effect of recurring fees and required extras. |
Sources: provider pricing pages from eVetSites, Digital Empathy and LifeLearn WebDVM, accessed October 20, 2026; Adams, Gilley, Morris and Wisnieski, Frontiers in Veterinary Science, published May 4, 2026; Barlo Digital phone test, October 2026.
Fair questions
Is $327 a month the maximum veterinary website cost?
No. It is the starting price printed on LifeLearn WebDVM's product page, not a market ceiling. Custom scope, multiple locations, copy, integrations and ongoing marketing can increase a quote. Use the published examples as a way to structure comparisons, then request the same scope and term from each provider.
Is a $1,997 build always cheaper than a subscription?
Not necessarily. It is lower than the three-year totals calculated for the monthly examples here, but a fair comparison must include the maintenance and updates your clinic needs. A subscription may bundle work that a one-time buyer would purchase separately. Compare a written scope over the same 36 months.
Does every veterinary website need online booking?
No. Emergency cases and complex scheduling may still require a call. The site should make the intended route obvious: tap to call for urgent help, and book or request an appointment where the clinic supports it. Test each route on a phone and measure whether it completes successfully.
Get a fixed-price veterinary website rebuild
If your clinic wants a defined project instead of an open-ended website quote, review Barlo Digital's $1,997 practice website rebuild. The page states the scope, timeline, ownership and optional care plan before you book a call.
